Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024 : Would you like the chance to win a prize of up to £5,000? The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024 is now open for talented writers from around the world. This prestigious Commonwealth award welcomes applicants of all educational backgrounds, whether you’re an undergraduate, graduate, or hold a PhD. Don’t miss this opportunity if you meet the eligibility criteria. To enter the competition, make sure to carefully review the entry rules. This incredible opportunity can be a transformative experience, opening doors to your dreams.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize requires original, unpublished stories. Your submissions will be evaluated by a team of readers and an international judging panel, including a chairperson and judges representing various Commonwealth regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Canada, the Caribbean, and the Pacific. If your story is in a language other than English, it must be first assessed by relevant language readers and translated into English for consideration. The translator of the winning story will also receive an additional prize.

The Commonwealth Foundation essay contest invites writers to craft a short story ranging from 2,000 to 5,000 words. The preferred genre for this prize is fiction, encompassing science fiction, historical fiction, speculative fiction, romance, crime, and literary fiction. You can choose any of these themes based on your interests and preferences. Submissions are accepted in multiple languages, including Turkish, Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, English, Maltese, Samoan, Portuguese, Tamil, and Swahili. Out of the numerous submissions received, only five regional winners will be chosen, and all of their winning stories will be published in Granta.

The Commonwealth Award is rooted in principles of equality, justice, and inclusion. It aims to support active participation in governance, foster civil society growth in all Commonwealth member nations, and uphold the organization’s core values of integrity, respect, professionalism, innovation, diversity of thought and expression, and collaboration. This civil society organization is dedicated to enhancing public engagement to build democratic societies worldwide, encouraging individuals to act and learn together.

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024:

Host Country:

  • United Kingdom.

Host University:

  • Commonwealth Foundation.

Benefits of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024:

  • The winning writers will receive a prize award of a minimum of £2,500 and a maximum of £5,000.
  • The winning writers will get exposure to international English writing skills.
  • Familiarity with the Commonwealth’s mission, vision, and core values.

Eligibility Criteria of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024:

  • Citizens of all Commonwealth member countries can apply.
  • Should be of age 18 and above.
  • Should be able to write a quality story.
  • The story should not have been published before.
  • The story should be between 2000 to 5000 words.
  • No discrimination based on gender, race, religion, etc.

How to Apply for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024:

  • Applicants must apply through the official website.
  • Register yourself by entering into the prize competition.
  • Carefully read the entry rules.
  • Fill up all the required fields.
  • Complete the information carefully and submit it.

Selection Criteria for the Commonwealth Award 2024:

  • Excellent Academic record.
  • Quality of Writing.
  • Meeting the eligibility criteria.

Application Deadline:

  • The application deadline for the Commonwealth essay competition 2024 is November 02, 2023, at 12 am BST.


Leave a Comment